Hunt for the Perfect Palette

Russian_Constructivist_Posters

We are still 11 months away from the big day, but I’ve become obsessed with finalizing a color palette.  Now that the most basic details (ceremony and reception sites, photographer, and officiant) are taken care of, I’d like to focus on the more aesthetic elements of our wedding.

When it comes to colors, we don’t want anything too sweet or predictable.  And although my fiancé might be happy with a palette of grays and gray-blues, I would like something more lighthearted.

These criteria kept bringing us back to some of our favorite things.  For my fiancé: Russian Constructivist posters.  For me: the age and color of vintage postcards and other ephemera.

postcard

An inspiration palette of poppy, honey, ivory, and black was posted on The Bride’s Guide back in May.  It has the vintage feel and classic design/typography that we both love.

Martha_Stewart_redblackyellowcream

My only hesitation is that it seems like more of a fall palette than an early summer one.  But it serves as a start – I’ll have an easier time passing up minty-greens as I scour the internet for invitation inspiration.

| Poster 1: Desain Grafis Indonesia Poster 2: Art Attacker Postcard: eBay Inspiration Board: The Bride’s Guide |

Leave a Reply

